Do It Like Rosie

I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries about how women are portrayed in the media and their role in society. It’s a topic that I am extremely passionate about because I believe that women are strong and powerful, and for the most part, we are portrayed as being weak and emotional. It’s as if we aren’t good for anything but being something for men to drool over, but we are not objects, and we should be taken seriously.

These documentaries made me really think about my love for pinup modeling. Am I just contradicting my beliefs by putting on cute outfits and heavy makeup to take cute pictures? In some ways, I can understand why someone would think I’m a hypocrite, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I could use it as a way to inspire others. I’m an average woman. I’m not a stick; I have flaws. I also have curves and tattoos. I’m not anything like the women that are shown in magazines. I can’t fit the mold of what society wants me to be, and I’m not going to conform to those standards. I’m strong and I’m not afraid to voice my opinions. I want to be a powerful, successful woman.

Rosie the Riveter

Look at Rosie the Riveter. She is an icon that fully represents a real, strong woman (it is also an image that is often duplicated by pinup models). She isn’t society’s standard definition of beautiful, but she is portrayed as hard working. She isn’t frail. She’s tough, like most women. She is the image of all the women that began working in factories during WWII while their husbands were fighting. It’s proof that “we can do it.” We can do whatever we want because we are valuable, and we are more that what society tells us we are. We need to remember all of the things that have been done by women, for women. We have to keep fighting these outrageous standards.

 

 

Leave a Reply

