Rocky, Rocky! Ra! Ra! Ra!

The Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of my favorite movies. I think I was in 8th grade the first time I ever saw it, and I instantly fell in love. It was made in 1975 and is a cult classic that gains new fans every year. So, of course I was beyond excited that the Lyric Theatre at the Plaza, located at 1725 NW 16th street in Oklahoma City, brought The Rocky Horror Show back for this Halloween season. I had never seen the stage production before, so I was determined to get tickets.

I was finally able to go see the show this past Tuesday. While I didn’t dress up for the occasion, (and I would have if I bought tickets for a later date) I bought a prop bag and was ready to throw everything out when I needed to. It’s a tradition at these shows to throw different props that relate to the story at specific times during the production. However, I didn’t get to participate.

Before the show started, characters came out to the audience to ask for volunteers. I was intrigued, but uncertain because I didn’t know what I would be doing. Then, one of my friends and classmate, Emily told me that she would volunteer with me. So we did, and let me tell you, the best way to experience The Rocky Horror Show for the first time is on stage. We were actually part of the production! I did the Time Warp on stage while wearing a clown suit, which wasn’t the most flattering, but I was having too much fun to care.

The show was obviously slightly different than the movie, but it was so much fun! It runs through November 2nd, and I think it’s a production that everyone needs to see. I mean, in what other show is it acceptable to yell profanities at the characters? It’s definitely worth your time and money.

Emily and I in our clown suits

Emily and I in our clown suits

Here’s Lyric Theatre’s website if you want to see what other shows are coming up:

http://www.lyrictheatreokc.com/

 

One thought on “Rocky, Rocky! Ra! Ra! Ra!

  1. This will definitely go down as one of my favorite nights this year. I completely agree that the only way to see this show is on the stage. Being apart of the action was so much fun. Glad we got to experience that together.

Leave a Reply

