Nothing but Burlesque (and a couple drag queens)

The first time I had ever seen burlesque (the real thing, not the movie) was at my 21st birthday party. My brother had invited the Bang Bang Queer Punk Variety Show, a group of burlesque dancers, drag queens and drag kings, to come perform for me and my friends and family. I was completely unaware of what was going on so I was a little nervous, but I ended up having a blast! Everyone involved in the show was ridiculously entertaining, andhey are some of the nicest people I have ever met.

I’ve seen them multiple times since then at the HiLo Club located at 1221 NW 50th in Oklahoma City. There is another group, the Dustbowl Dolls that travels to different bars in the same area. They just recently performed at the HiLo, and they also frequent Speakeasy located at 1114 NW 51st St. The Dustbowl Dolls is strictly burlesque, and all the performers are very talented! It is definitely worth the time and money to go see one or both of these groups.

Keep in mind, though, that sometimes it can get a tad bit inappropriate so be sure to invite some very open minded people!blogpost

Leave a Reply

